India Wins Sixth Asia Cup Title Against Bangladesh


Thanks to Dhoni’s massive six, India required just nine runs out of nine balls. India 112/2 after 13.3 overs.

Mahmudullah and Sabbir Rahman capitalised from some loose bowling from India as they reached 120/5. The hosts got rid of Rohit Sharma cheaply but Shikhar Dhawan came back to form with his second Twenty20 fifty and his 94-run stand with Virat Kohli helped India get closer to the target. MS Dhoni sealed the match with a six as India sealed their sixth Asia Cup title. For Bangladesh, they were denied for the second time. Relive all the moments of the match here.

Classic MS Dhoni. He seals the game with a six to seal a sixth Asia Cup Title for India. India have defeated Bangladesh by eight wickets and they have now equaled the best winning streak for India in Twenty20 internationals with seven. He has now sealed the 2011 World Cup with a six and now a six to seal a sixth Asia Cup title.


# Bangladesh have qualified for the Asia Cup final only once in 2012, when they lost to Pakistan at home by just two runs.

# India are the five-time champions. India’s winning meets were all held in the previous 50-over one-day international format.


Bangladesh: Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Sabbir Rahman, Imrul Kayes, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mohammad Mithun, Mushfiqur Rahim, Nasir Hossain, Nurul Hasan, Taskin Ahmed Abu Hider, Al-Amin Hossain, Arafat Sunny.

India: MS Dhoni (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Harbhajan Singh, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Pawan Negi, Ashish Nehra.

source: NDTV