Apple Music is just backing up your music and you can access them even after your subscription ends

0
495

If Apple music subscriber James Pinkstone blog is to be believed Apple is deleting the music files from the users system with out permission and going ahead converting them into a lower quality file on iCloud. But the fact is that’s how sync is suppose to work Apple and you can enjoy the music at all devices by just logging in to Apple music. The controversy surrounding Apple Music deleting users file is over board and users can only loose it if they delete it from the device.

Earlier this week, frustrated Apple Music subscriber James Pinkstone took to a blog to warn fellow users about a potentially catastrophic issue with Apple’s streaming service.

According to the post, Apple Music deleted 122 GB of music from Pinkstone’s laptop without his permission. Making matters worse, Pinkstone had composed some of the music himself, and the original WAV files he created were converted to lower-quality audio files during the process.

According to Pinkstone, Apple support representative “Amber” told him the behavior he was describing was intentional and a frequent complaint of fellow users. In other words, this is how Apple Music was supposed to work. That’s not the case, but nonetheless something happened to Pinkstone’s library.

Thankfully Pinkstone had a recent backup of his music library and was able to recover everything he thought he’d lost.

The entire story is reminiscent of what popular Apple blogger Jim Dalrymple went through shortly after Apple Music first launched.

Your music, synced with Apple Music

When you sign into Apple Music and enable iCloud Music Library on a Mac, iTunes begins matching the songs in your personal library with songs in Apple’s catalog. If a song matches, Apple adds its own version of the song to your library. When there isn’t a match, Apple Music uploads a copy of your song after temporarily converting it to a AAC 256 Kbps file.

The original files stored on your Mac are not converted — only the uploaded and synced file is changed.

Matched and uploaded music is then made available on any device linked to the same Apple ID you used to sign up for Apple Music.

But this is where it can get confusing (as if it wasn’t already). Any songs or albums you download from Apple Music on a secondary device, meaning Android, iPad, iPod, iPhone, or Mac is just a copy of the original song. And because that copy is now linked to Apple Music, you will lose access to it 30 days after canceling an Apple Music account.

However, you will not lose access to the original files stored on your computer. The only way you would lose access to the original file is if you delete it from the Mac it was uploaded from.

The solution? Back up your original library

The best thing you can do when syncing your music with a third party service such as Apple Music is to back it up first. Either use Time Machine to store a local copy, or upload it to a cloud service such as OneDrive, Dropbox or Google Drive.

As long as you have the original files, you will never lose access to them. They are, after all, your property.

There’s no telling why or how Pinkstone’s music library was deleted from his computer, but the nuances of Apple Music’s file handling and misinformation after the fact by “Amber,” the Apple support representative who told Pinkstone this was normal, didn’t help the matter

NO COMMENTS