Uber will be releasing new feature in its app that can let the users track their family and friends as and when they are using UBER. An extension has already been added to Family Profiles, Trip tracker that automatically notifies and can also real-time mapping of your family member rides.
“The next time one of your family members is headed out—you’ll know when they are on their way, which route they are taking and when they’ve arrived,” senior product manager Marie Hagman wrote in a blog post. Launched in March, Family Profiles allows one user to share his or her account with up to 10 people via a single payment method. In the latest version of the Uber app, navigate to Menu > Settings > “Add a Family Profile.” Once the selected contacts accept your invitation, they can request rides at your expense.
And now, when one of those linked members orders an Uber, you’ll also be notified with their trip details. Follow their progress live on your smartphone, ensuring grandma arrives at her doctor’s appointment, best friend Jack makes it home after a long weekend, or that your daughter really is going to the mall.
The cost of the ride is automatically billed to you, and both users receive a copy of the receipt. This feature, however, applies only to folks using Family Profile; all other rides remain private. Initially available in Atlanta, Dallas, and Phoenix, Family Profiles and Trip Tracker are rolling out to riders around the world, to “bring you peace of mind while your nearest and dearest ride on Uber,” Hagman said.