Published: Thu, May 17, 2018
Sports | By Johanna Francis

Karolina Pliskova Hits Umpire's Chair With Racket After Loss

Karolina Pliskova Hits Umpire's Chair With Racket After Loss

You rarely see the kind of fury Thiem displayed on the women's circuit however, where action tends to be a lot calmer.

With both players locked at 5-5 in the decisive set, Pliskova smashed home a victor which was incorrectly called out much to the dismay of the Czech Republic star.

Karolina Pliskova is now the world number six in the women's singles rankings, and topped the pile as recently as July 2017. Former world No 1 Sharapova struck 41 winners as she rallied back from a set down to edge her Slovakian opponent 3-6, 6-4, 6-2 in a thrilling two and a half hour contest.

It was the first time Sakkari had beaten a top five player in her career.

Despite TV replays proving Pliskova's shot was in, HawkEye and the challenge system isn't used on clay so the chair and line umpires rely on ball marks to settle disputes.

Tusk: Trump 'helped European Union rid itself of its illusions'
The EU should also be "grateful to President Trump", Tusk said, "because thanks to him we have got rid of all illusions . It's a moment of truth for Europe", he said.

Antoine Griezmann Inspires Atletico Madrid To Europa League Final Victory
Griezmann pounced in the 21st minute, slotting coolly into the bottom left corner after being set up by midfielder Gabi's pass. They lifted their level in the second half and I regret that we were out of luck when Mitroglou hit the post.

European Union top diplomats to follow through JCPOA
The commission is expected to unveil them to European Union leaders at a summit in Sofia, Bulgaria, on Wednesday. His decision have left the future of the internationally signed Nuclear Deal with Iran in question.

However, the line-judge deemed the ball to be out, and this decision was not over-ruled by umpire Marta Mrozinska.

After the match, Pliskova approached the umpire's chair and faked a handshake before unloading on the chair with her racket.

Pliskova, the No 6 seed from the Czech Republic, lost 3-6, 6-3, 7-5 in the second round of the Italian Open on Wednesday (Thursday NZ time).

Sports fans also took to social media to point out that several calls made by the umpire were wrong.

Like this: