Published: Mon, July 09, 2018
Sports | By Johanna Francis

Phil Mickelson gives himself a two-shot penalty at Greenbrier Classic

Phil Mickelson gives himself a two-shot penalty at Greenbrier Classic

Phil Mickelson, criticised after he absorbed a two-shot penalty for an intentional rules violation at the US Open, was on the wrong side of golf's rules again at the Greenbrier Classic on Sunday.

Moments later it dawned on Mickelson that what he had done might be a violation of the rules and he was heard saying: 'Is what I just did legal?

When the rules official arrived Phil was informed that he had breached the rules and a two-stroke penalty would apply for a violation of Rule 13-2, which covers the improving of a players' line of play.

On his latest gaffe, in the final round at Greenbrier, Mickelson says he "wasn't really thinking".

Brexit secretary David Davis has resigned
The prime minister will have a crunch meeting with members of her Tory party to discuss her plan in Parliament on Monday evening. On the global markets, sterling slipped by a third of a cent against the dollar to $1.3288 in early trading.

Kyle Anderson signs 4-year, $37.2 million offer sheet with Memphis Grizzlies
The Grizzlies finished last season with a 22-62 record and missed the playoffs for the first time since 2009-10. Anderson, 24, was a primary target of the Grizzlies and is likely to become their starting small forward.

It’s on: US, China tariffs take effect in new trade war
German Chancellor Angela Merkel, seeking to avoid a trade war , has expressed support for eliminating the EU's auto tariffs. The damage could also spread to other economies , hurting business confidence and prompting companies to delay investments.

At the US Open last month, Mickelson intentionally violated golf rules by hitting a moving ball on the green in the third round. He said he would ask a rules official about it, and then lined up and hit his shot, a 281-yard iron in the fairway.

The incident occurred on the par-four seventh hole, which Mickelson double-bogeyed after factoring in his penalty. I'm embarrassed and disappointed by my actions.

Phil Mickelson was handed a two-shot penalty for the second successive tournament after a freaky incident at the Greenbrier.

Like this: