Published: Wed, July 11, 2018
Culture&Arts | By Dora Pope

‘The English Patient’ voted best Man Booker winner

‘The English Patient’ voted best Man Booker winner

Sri Lankan born Canadian author Michael Ondaatje's novel "The English Patient" has won the Golden Man Booker Prize.

The Canadian writer's book, which tells a tale of love and conflict during World War II, was awarded the Golden Man Booker Prize for fiction after winning a month-long public vote.

The novel - which was adapted into an Oscar-winning 1996 movie starring Ralph Fiennes and Juliette Binoche - was judged to be the best victor of the 52 books to have won the prestigious award.

While Ondaatje's "English Patient" listed for the "90s, 'In a Free State by V.S. Naipul represented the '70s, 'Moon Tiger" by Penelope Lively stood for the '80s, Hilary Mantel's Wolf Hall was selected for the 2000s, and last year's victor Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders was chosen for the ongoing '10s.

A panel of judges read all 51 former winners of the award, with each assigned a decade from the Booker's history. He paid tribute to the late "The English Patient" film director, Anthony Minghella, "who I suspect had something to do with the result of this vote".

Pakistan cricketer Shehzad fails dope test
The PCB made the announcement on social media, stating it had received the report from the Independent Review Board on Tuesday. He was also not part of the one-day global squad which will play a five-match series against Zimbabwe starting Friday.

Gazza's message for Southgate and his England squad
This is, of course, in no way connected with how our writers may or may not have been feeling themselves at the time. Incredibly, it has been signed by more than 130,000 people - and it has been growing by the minute.

Cristiano Ronaldo quits Real Madrid, signs for Juventus
Ronaldo signed a five-year deal with Madrid in 2016, saying he wanted to end his career at the club. Ronaldo himself has penned a letter to the Madrid fans, thanking them for the time he spent.

Helena Kennedy, chair of the Booker Prize Foundation, said: "The English Patientis a compelling work of fiction - both poetic and philosophical - and is a worthy victor of the Golden Man Booker". "The English Patient" was selected by the novelist Kamila Shamsie to represent the 1990s.

"The English Patient is that rare novel which gets under your skin and insists you return to it time and again, always yielding a new surprise or delight", said the novelist. "It's intricately and rewardingly structured, beautifully written, with great humanity written into every page", said Shamsie, as reported by the Guardian.

Last year's victor, "Lincoln in the Bardo", by George Saunders, was selected by the poet Hollie McNish.

"Golden Booker" - a special award established in honor of the 50th anniversary of the literary man Booker prize.

Like this: