Published: Mon, July 16, 2018
Sports | By Johanna Francis

Luka Modric Wins Golden Ball

Luka Modric Wins Golden Ball

Croatia midfielder Luka Modric accepted the Golden Ball award as the best player at the World Cup after his side lost to France 4-2 in Sunday's final.

He scored two goals in the group stage and converted both of his attempts in penalty shootouts to help Croatia reach the final, collecting his award from Federation Internationale de Football Association president Gianni Infantino during a post-match ceremony in which he was embraced by Croatia president Kolinda Grabar-Kitarovic.

Below are lists of players who won different individual awards at the tournament.

Belgium's Eden Hazard was awarded the Silver Ball as runner-up and France's Antoine Griezmann was given the Bronze Ball.

The Golden Ball award is presented to the best player of the FIFA World Cup with Modric winning the vote by representatives of the media after a shortlist of players was drawn up by the FIFA technical committee.

Fortis accepts Rs 40 bn investment offer from IHH Healthcare Berhad
The Malaysian healthcare chain outbid the Manipal-TPG combine, which had offered Rs 2,100 crore at Rs 160 per share. The offer price is about 20 percent higher than Fortis' closing price on Thursday.

Taylor Swift's Floating Platform Malfunctions: "Pretty Sure I'm Stuck Up Here!"
Taylor is now on her Reputation tour with Camila Cabello and Charli XCX, who as far as we know, have not found themselves stuck in sparkly baskets just yet.

Gerrard happy with Rangers win but warns against complacency
There's a lot of new players about, we're still feeling our way in, it's the first game. "There is still a lot of work to do". Rangers dominated the first-half and missed numerous chances either side of Murphy's opener midway through the half.

Modric performed spectacularly against England in semifinals and Russian Federation in the quarterfinals.

The Real Madrid ace is understandably disappointed not to have coupled his accolade with the World Cup trophy, yet all of Croatia can hold their heads high after their players put in multiple class performances during the tournament.

Joining Griezmann and Mbappe on the four-goal mark were Russia's Denis Cheryshev, Portugal's Cristiano Ronaldo and Belgium's Romelu Lukaku.

Spain crashed out on penalties in the last 16 but were given a consolation fair play prize after picking up only two yellow cards.

Like this: