Published: Mon, February 04, 2019
Technology | By Lionel Gonzales

You can secure your WhatsApp conversation with Face ID and Touch ID

You can secure your WhatsApp conversation with Face ID and Touch ID

The folks over at WhatsApp have made a decision to add an extra layer of security for those using the app and allow them to lock the app behind Face ID or Touch ID.

Download this update from Apple App Store today.

If you own an iPhone X or greater, you can use Face ID to unlock WhatsApp while iPhone 8 and lower devices will make use of Touch ID. You can't lock select chats within the app yet but even an app-wide lock method is a useful feature. Currently, there are four options available for the user including the app locking "immediately", "after 1 minute", "after 15 minutes", and "after 1 hour".

Kristoff St. John, Young and the Restless Emmy Winner, Dead at 52
John's son Julian died in November 2014 at age 24, in what was ruled a suicide and following a history of mentally illness. John leaves was most recently engaged to model Kseniya Olegovna Mikhaleva and had planned to marry in the fall.

LeBron James to return Thursday night against Clippers
He added: "This is where I can shut out everything, be out there with my guys, command my guys, and get a win on the road". The superstar almost recorded a triple-double as he scored 24 points, recorded 14 rebounds, and dished out nine assists.

Drivers may encounter Super Bowl patrols
Law enforcement will also be looking for drivers who are using their phones and other electronic devices while behind the wheel. The Sheriff's Department has these pregame tips for a safe Super Bowl Sunday: • Plan a safe way home before the game begins.

Once unlocked after successfully detecting the correct biometrics - either through Face ID or Touch ID feature - the instant messaging app opens access to all your messages. Getting into the details about the feature, iOS users need to be running version 2.19.20 for iOS. This new update will allow you to protect your private messages from others.

The feature was launched for iOS beta users last week, and has now rolled out to iOS users across the world.

Users will want to be careful about their notification settings if they choose to secure their app, though, specifically message previews.

Like this: